About Us

TPSM Committee members gather in front of Congresswoman Jeannette Rankin's statue at the new Capitol Visitors Center.

The Turning Point Suffragist Memorial Association is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit corporation organized under the laws of the Commonwealth of Virginia.  It began as an initiative of the League of Women Voters of the Fairfax Area and the Northern Virginia Regional Park Authority.

The Turning Point Suffragist Memorial Committee is an all volunteer group dedicated to honoring the lives of the suffragists who fought for the ratification of the 19th Amendment. Our vision is to raise awareness and funds to create a memorial that will reflect the strength of the women and the significance of their struggle.  The memorial will be located at Occoquan Regional Park, which is administered by the Northern Virginia Park Authority. 

The Northern Virginia Regional Park Authority enhances the communities of Northern Virginia and enriches the lives of their citizens through the conservation of regional, natural and cultural resources. It provides diverse regional, recreational and educational opportunities, and fosters an understanding of the relationship between people and their environment.

TPSMA Board of Directors

Jane Barker, Immediate Past Chair
Jean Ann Bolling
Betty Dean
John Houser--NVRPA Liaison
Emily McCoy--Chair
Kathleen Pablo
Lois Page
Emily McCoy--Treasurer
Nancy Sargeant
Kathy Strauss
Su Webb

Counsel, Kathleen Holmes, Holmes & Costin

TPSMA Committee Chairs

Development: Su Webb and  Earnie Porta
Media and Marketing: Nancy Sargeant
Membership: Lois Page
Audience: Kathleen Pablo
Interpretation and Design: Edith Mayo and Emily McCoy
Outreach: Myra Lindsey

Click here to see the video "What Have Women Gained with the Vote"